It has been brought to our attention that at least one school in our region has a significant level of absence possibly associated with an outbreak of the Norovirus.  If your son or daughter is absent through sickness please keep them at home for 48 hours after the sickness has passed.  We will talk with all our students, through tutors, to remind about personal hygiene (handwashing etc.).

KS4 Curriculum Summary

Key Stage 4

At Key Stage 4, students continue to have access to a broad and balanced curriculum featuring high value qualifications. The range of GCSE and vocational qualifications on offer to students in Years 10 and 11 reflects the interests and aspirations of our students. The core curriculum which all students must follow consists of:

  • English (Literature and Language)
  • Maths
  • Science (Combined or Triple)
  • Social and Religious Studies (incorporating PSHCE)
  • PE
  • Students are then given four option choices, within some rules than ensure students are selecting at least one humanity or language, and in many cases one humanity and one language. Students in current Years 10 and 11 have chosen from the following subjects:

GCSE Subjects

  • Biology
  • Geography
  • Chemistry
  • History
  • Physics
  • French
  • German
  • PE
  • Music
  • Drama
  • Computer Science
  • Art and Design
  • Business Studies
  • Design Technology – Product Design

Vocational Courses

  • Engineering (BTEC)
  • iMedia (Cambridge National)
  • Music (BTEC)
  • Health and Social Care (Cambridge National)
  • Hospitality and Catering (Eduqas)

Subjects within the core curriculum are taught in ability groups, while students will work in mixed groups for their option subjects.